Trip Planner
You have the following items saved to your itinerary.

    76th GOODE Water Ski Nationals

    • Date: August 7, 2018 - August 11, 2018
    • Time: TBA
    • Admission: TBA
    • Location: Mystic Lakes
      Maize, KS
    USA Water Ski and the American Water Ski Association are pleased to announce that the 2018 Water Ski National Championships will be held Aug. 7-11, 2018, at Mystic Lakes in Maize, Kan. The bid from the Mystic Lakes Ski Club was approved by the AWSA board of directors at its mid-winter meeting on Jan. 28.

    The Mystic Lakes Ski Club, which includes two world-record capability water ski lakes, has previously hosted the Midwest Regional Water Ski Championships, Junior U.S. Open Water Ski Championships and Barefoot Water Ski National Championships. It will mark the first time that the state of Kansas has hosted the Water Ski National Championships.

    More than 600 of the nation's top water ski athletes from across the United States are expected to compete for national titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall in respective age divisions and two Open divisions at the Nationals, the world’s largest three-event water ski tournament. Advancement to the Nationals is primarily earned through placement on the national rankings list. Athletes also can qualify for the Nationals by placing in the top-five at Regionals or by placing in the top-five at the previous year's Nationals.  

    The first national championships was held in 1939 at Jones Beach in Long Island, N.Y. Except for three years during World War II (1942-1944), the Nationals has been held every year since 1939.

    The 2017 GOODE Water Ski National Championships, the 75th edition of the Nationals, will be held Aug. 9-12 at the San Marcos River Ranch in Martindale, Texas.

    USA Water Ski is the national governing body of organized water skiing in the United States. USA Water Ski is a member of the International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (world governing body), the Pan American Sports Organization and the United States Olympic Committee. Affiliated with USA Water Ski as sport discipline organizations are the American Water Ski Association (AWSA), American Barefoot Club (ABC), American Kneeboard Association (AKA), National Collegiate Water Ski Association (NCWSA), National Show Ski Association (NSSA), National Water Ski Racing Association (NWSRA), United States Hydrofoil Association (USHA), USA Wakeboard (USA-WB) and Water Skiers with Disabilities Association (WSDA).

    Interest in competitive water skiing has grown considerably over the years and continues to attract many more enthusiasts. USA Water Ski sanctions more than 900 tournaments each season. These range from small, local events for novices to national and world-level tournaments for more experienced competitors. Male and female skiers of all ages can compete in traditional three-event water skiing (slalom, tricks, jumping) tournaments, as well as in tournaments for wakeboarding, barefooting, kneeboarding, show skiing, collegiate water skiing and wakeboarding, water ski racing, hydrofoiling and disabled water skiing.